GUIDE

GUIDE

GUIDE

Dynamics 365 Business Central pricing: every license, add-on and real cost

Dynamics 365 Business Central costs $80 per user per month for Essentials, $110 for Premium and $8 for Team Members, paid yearly, per Microsoft's pricing page. A Device license is $45 per device per month. Partners publish implementation ranges from about $18,000 for finance only to $250,000 and more for manufacturing. The license is the smaller part of the bill; the bigger cost is the daily work people still do around the ERP, which Morsa, the AI operations layer, runs on top of Business Central.

11 min

Dynamics 365 Business Central costs $80 per user per month for Essentials, $110 for Premium and $8 for Team Members, paid yearly, per Microsoft’s pricing page [1]. A Device license is $45 per device per month [2][3]. Partners publish implementation ranges from about $18,000 for finance only to $250,000 and more for manufacturing [10][12]. The license is the smaller part of the bill; the bigger cost is the daily work people still do around the ERP, which Morsa, the AI operations layer, runs on top of Business Central.

Morsa publishes this guide. Every price was read on Microsoft’s own pages or a named partner’s page on 21 October 2026, and each one carries its source.

How much does Business Central cost?

Business Central is sold as a subscription, per user per month, with a yearly commitment. Microsoft lists these prices in US dollars [1][3]:

Essentials

  • Price: $80 per user per month, paid yearly

  • What it covers: Finance, sales, purchasing, inventory, warehouse, supply chain planning, project management

  • Source: Microsoft pricing page [1]

Premium

  • Price: $110 per user per month, paid yearly

  • What it covers: “Everything in the Essentials plan, plus enhanced capabilities for service management and manufacturing”

  • Source: Microsoft pricing page [1]

Team Members

  • Price: $8 per user per month, paid yearly

  • What it covers: “Limited access to read data, approve workflows, and create or update select information”

  • Source: Microsoft pricing page [1]

Device

  • Price: $45 per device per month, billed annually

  • What it covers: A shared device such as a shop floor, warehouse or point of sale terminal, used by many people

  • Source: Microsoft blog [2], Microsoft licensing deck [3]

Device SL

  • Price: $30 per device per month, billed annually, 100 device minimum

  • What it covers: A limited device license sold only through partners in the Cloud Solution Provider program

  • Source: Microsoft licensing deck [3]

External Accountant

  • Price: Up to 3 per customer tenant

  • What it covers: Your outside accountant

  • Source: Microsoft licensing guidance [4]

Three facts sit behind that table. First, Business Central licenses “can only be purchased through CSP”, Microsoft’s Cloud Solution Provider program, so you buy through a partner, not from Microsoft directly [5]. Second, Microsoft’s page notes that “Prices shown are for informational purposes only and may not be reflective of actual list price”, because of currency, country and regional factors; your partner’s quote is the final number [1]. Third, Microsoft offers a free 30-day trial [1].

So how much does Business Central cost in a year? A 20-person office on Essentials pays 20 x $80 x 12 = $19,200 a year in licenses before implementation. The worked examples below show a full first year and five years for a 50-person and a 200-person company.

What are the different types of licenses for Dynamics 365 Business Central?

There are four paid license types for people, plus a device license [4][5]:

  • Essentials is the full user license for finance, sales, purchasing, inventory and warehouse work. It suits most distributors.

  • Premium includes all of Essentials, “plus Service Order Management and Manufacturing” [4]. You need it for production orders, BOMs and routings in Business Central’s manufacturing module, and for service management.

  • Team Members is a light license for people who mainly read and approve. Microsoft’s licensing guidance calls it “read-only access to certain data and limited functionality”, for the user’s “own use only (not for, or on behalf of, others)” [4]. Within that, it allows updating existing records, approving workflow tasks, working on quotes and entering time sheets [4]. So it is not strictly read-only, but it cannot run full order, purchasing or production work.

  • External Accountant gives your outside accountant access; you can have up to three per tenant [4].

  • Device lets “multiple users to simultaneously use a device that is covered by the license”, such as a point of sale, shop floor or warehouse device [5]. Device users are concurrent, and “a device user can’t be the first user to sign in” [5].

Can you mix Essentials and Premium? Not inside one company. Microsoft says “Users with an Essentials license can’t sign in to a company where the Experience field is set to Premium” [6]. Microsoft does allow Essentials and Premium “in separate environments, on the same tenant” [3]. Rand Group, a Microsoft partner, puts it as “All full users within a single Business Central environment must be licensed under either Essentials or Premium, not both” [10]. In practice a manufacturer licenses all its full users on Premium.

Licenses cannot be swapped around freely either: Microsoft says a license cannot be reassigned “within 90 days of the latest assignment” [5].

Did Business Central prices go up? The November 2025 change

Yes. On May 6, 2025 Microsoft announced “the first price increase for Dynamics 365 Business Central in more than five years” [2]. It first set the date as October 1, 2025, then updated the post on September 9, 2025 to push the change to November 1, 2025 [2]. Many partner pages still say October 1; Microsoft’s own post says November 1.

Essentials

  • Before: $70 per user per month, 2 GB storage

  • From November 1, 2025: $80 per user per month, 3 GB storage

  • Source: Microsoft blog [2]

Premium

  • Before: $100 per user per month, 3 GB storage

  • From November 1, 2025: $110 per user per month, 5 GB storage

  • Source: Microsoft blog [2]

Device

  • Before: $40 per device per month, 1 GB storage

  • From November 1, 2025: $45 per device per month, 1.5 GB storage

  • Source: Microsoft blog [2]

Team Members

  • Before: $8

  • From November 1, 2025: $8 (not in Microsoft’s change table)

  • Source: Microsoft pricing page [1]

The new prices apply to new cloud subscriptions, and to existing ones “upon their first renewal” on or after November 1, 2025 [2]. If your renewal fell after that date, your per-user cost went up by $10.

What add-ons cost extra?

Database capacity, 1 GB

  • Price per month: $10

  • What you get: One more GB of database storage

  • Source: Licensing deck [3]

Database capacity, 100 GB

  • Price per month: $500

  • What you get: 100 GB more storage

  • Source: Licensing deck [3]

Database capacity overage, 1 GB

  • Price per month: $5

  • What you get: Lower-priced extra GB, only after you buy the 100 GB add-on

  • Source: Licensing deck [3], Learn [7]

Additional environment

  • Price per month: $300

  • What you get: One more production environment, three more sandboxes, and 4 GB more shared storage

  • Source: Licensing deck [3], Learn [7]

Copilot agents (Sales Order Agent, Payables Agent)

  • Price per month: Not listed

  • What you get: “Requires Copilot Credits (sold separately)”

  • Source: Microsoft pricing page [1]

What is included: every customer gets “one production environment and three sandbox environments, at no extra charge” [7], and 80 GB of database storage plus an allowance per user [7]. Since November 2025 that allowance is 3 GB per Essentials user, 5 GB per Premium user and 1.5 GB per device [2][3]. Microsoft Learn’s capacity table still shows the old 2 GB and 3 GB figures [7]; the price change post is the newer source. Going over the storage limit “doesn’t interrupt transaction processing”, but you cannot create or copy environments until you are back under it [7].

What about Business Central on-premises pricing?

Microsoft does not publish on-premises prices. Since April 1, 2025, new customers buying Business Central on-premises can only buy subscription licenses; existing customers are not affected [8]. BE-terna, a Microsoft partner, reports that from October 1, 2025 on-premises prices bought through the Dynamics Price List rose about 10% for perpetual licenses and 10 to 14% for subscriptions, and that the yearly Enhancement Plan went from 19% to 20% of list price [9]. Ask your partner for a written on-premises quote.

How much does Business Central implementation cost?

Implementation is the partner’s work to set up, configure, move data and train your people. Microsoft does not price it. Named partners publish these ranges:

Encore Business Solutions [12]

  • Scope: Simple: GL, AP, AR

  • Published cost: $18,000 to $80,000

  • Published timeline: 2 to 6 months

Encore Business Solutions [12]

  • Scope: Medium: plus sales and purchase order processing

  • Published cost: $22,000 to $100,000

  • Published timeline: 3 to 8 months

Encore Business Solutions [12]

  • Scope: Advanced: plus inventory and MRP

  • Published cost: $25,000 to $130,000

  • Published timeline: 4 to 12 months

Encore Business Solutions [12]

  • Scope: Complex: plus manufacturing

  • Published cost: $160,000 and up

  • Published timeline: 10 to 16 months

Cargas [11]

  • Scope: Quick start, out of the box, no customizations, to complex sales, purchasing and inventory

  • Published cost: About $40,000 to $100,000 and up; $75,000 as “a reasonable industry average”

  • Published timeline: Not stated

Rand Group [10]

  • Scope: All projects

  • Published cost: “$25,000 and $250,000+, depending on the complexities of your business”

  • Published timeline: Not stated

Evincible Solutions [14]

  • Scope: Large: inventory management and manufacturing

  • Published cost: $120,000 to $350,000

  • Published timeline: Not stated

Alphavima Technologies [13]

  • Scope: Mid-market: 25 to 50 users, 1 to 2 entities, real inventory, 2 to 3 integrations

  • Published cost: $96,000 to $237,000

  • Published timeline: Not stated

Alphavima Technologies [13]

  • Scope: Complex: 75+ users, 3+ entities, manufacturing or heavy customization, 4+ integrations

  • Published cost: $237,000 to $592,000 and up

  • Published timeline: Not stated

The pattern across partners: finance-only projects start under $50,000, a distributor with inventory and purchasing lands between about $25,000 and $130,000, and adding the manufacturing module moves the project past $120,000.

What drives Business Central cost?

  • License tier. Premium costs $30 more per user per month than Essentials [1]. A manufacturer pays it for every full user.

  • How many full users versus Team Members. A full user costs 10 to 14 times a Team Members license [1]. Only give full licenses to people who enter orders, purchase, plan or post.

  • Shared devices. A shop floor or warehouse terminal on a $45 Device license [2] can replace several named licenses.

  • Storage and environments. Attachments and long history grow the database; extra storage is $10 per GB per month, and each extra environment is $300 per month [3].

  • Implementation scope. Modules, data migration, integrations and customization drive the partner bill more than headcount does [11][12].

  • Apps from the AppSource marketplace. EDI, shipping, advanced warehouse and quality apps are priced by each app vendor, on top of Microsoft’s license.

  • Copilot agents. Microsoft’s Sales Order Agent and Payables Agent need Copilot Credits, sold separately [1].

  • Renewals. The November 2025 change shows list prices can rise at renewal [2].

  • Your own people’s time. Partners’ figures exclude the hours your staff spend in workshops, testing and cleanup; Alphavima says its ranges exclude “internal staff time and contingency” [13].

Worked example: what a 50-person company pays (estimate)

This is an estimate built from the list prices and partner ranges above, not a quote. Assumptions: 15 full users, 20 Team Members (people who look up stock or approve), and 3 shared devices on the shop floor or in the warehouse. The distributor runs Essentials; the manufacturer needs Premium for manufacturing.

Line

50-person distributor (Essentials)

50-person manufacturer (Premium)

Full users

15 x $80 x 12 = $14,400

15 x $110 x 12 = $19,800

Team Members

20 x $8 x 12 = $1,920

20 x $8 x 12 = $1,920

Devices

3 x $45 x 12 = $1,620

3 x $45 x 12 = $1,620

Licenses per year

$17,940

$23,340

Included storage

80 GB + 15 x 3 GB + 3 x 1.5 GB = 129.5 GB

80 GB + 15 x 5 GB + 3 x 1.5 GB = 159.5 GB

Implementation (one time)

$25,000 to $130,000 (Encore, inventory and MRP tier [12])

$120,000 to $350,000 (Evincible, inventory and manufacturing [14]); Encore’s manufacturing tier starts at $160,000 [12]

Year one

$42,940 to $147,940

$143,340 to $373,340

Three years

$78,820 to $183,820

$190,020 to $420,020

Five years

$114,700 to $219,700

$236,700 to $466,700

Math: three years = 3 x licenses per year + implementation; five years = 5 x licenses per year + implementation. Not included: partner support plans, marketplace apps, Copilot Credits, extra storage, price rises at renewal, and your staff’s time.

Worked example: what a 200-person company pays (estimate)

Assumptions: 75 full users, 100 Team Members, and 10 shared devices. Same method as above.

Line

200-person distributor (Essentials)

200-person manufacturer (Premium)

Full users

75 x $80 x 12 = $72,000

75 x $110 x 12 = $99,000

Team Members

100 x $8 x 12 = $9,600

100 x $8 x 12 = $9,600

Devices

10 x $45 x 12 = $5,400

10 x $45 x 12 = $5,400

Licenses per year

$87,000

$114,000

Included storage

80 GB + 75 x 3 GB + 10 x 1.5 GB = 320 GB

80 GB + 75 x 5 GB + 10 x 1.5 GB = 470 GB

Implementation (one time)

$96,000 to $237,000 (Alphavima mid-market [13]; quoted for 25 to 50 users, so treat it as a floor at this size)

$237,000 to $592,000 (Alphavima complex: 75+ users, manufacturing [13])

Year one

$183,000 to $324,000

$351,000 to $706,000

Three years

$357,000 to $498,000

$579,000 to $934,000

Five years

$531,000 to $672,000

$807,000 to $1,162,000

At 200 people the license becomes the bigger line over five years, and every person you can keep on Team Members instead of Premium saves $102 a month, or $1,224 a year.

Where the real cost lives: the work around Business Central

The tables above price the software. They do not price the work Business Central still leaves to people. A buyer still reads supplier emails and types new ship dates into purchase orders. A customer service rep still keys orders from PDF POs and emails, and answers “where is my order” by looking up the order and the carrier. Someone still chases the supplier whose date slipped and works out which customer orders it hits. In a 50-person company that is several full-time jobs, and every one of those people needs a full $80 or $110 license to do it.

The modern way is an AI system that does that daily work inside Business Central while people approve. Morsa is that AI operations layer. It connects to Business Central online through Microsoft’s APIs and webhooks, reading purchase orders, vendors, items, inventory, production orders, BOMs, routings and shipments, and writing back. It enters customer orders from emails, PDF POs and phone photos of handwritten forms, matching customer part numbers to yours and asking before it guesses. It chases suppliers from the buyer’s own mailbox, reads the replies and updates the dates in Business Central. It answers where-is-my-order emails with the ETA and carrier tracking, turns a phone photo of a packing slip into a receipt, and catches a supplier slip early with the runs and customer orders it hits, proposing the fix for one-tap approval. It works across several ERPs at once, so a plant still on Dynamics NAV, GP or QuickBooks runs the same agent on the old and new system during a move.

Proof from plants: at J4S, a 120-person glass plant, on-time completion of operational commitments rose from about 30% to about 75% across about 900 commitments in four weeks [15]. At JRG Automotive, Morsa caught 5 of 8 production-stopping shortages early and saved $2 million [16].

The economics run the other way from per-seat licensing: no per-seat licences, no multi-month implementation, live in days, and a pilot on one live problem first. Morsa’s terms: “We’ll catch a shortage in your plant, or you don’t pay.” When Morsa does the typing, ask your partner whether the people who now only review and approve fit Team Members rights at $8.

Book a demo: https://cal.com/morsa

How to buy Business Central and keep the price down

  1. Pick a partner in Microsoft’s CSP program; that is the only way to buy [5].

  2. Decide Essentials or Premium per environment. Premium only if you run manufacturing or service orders [4].

  3. List every person and mark them full user, Team Member or shared device. Recheck it before each renewal; licenses can only be reassigned after 90 days [5].

  4. Ask for the implementation quote by module, with data migration and integrations as separate lines, and compare it to the partner ranges above.

  5. Ask about promotions for customers moving from Dynamics GP or NAV; Microsoft says “many existing Dynamics GP customers are eligible for substantial promotional discounts” but publishes no amounts [17].

  6. Put the daily work (orders, supplier dates, where-is-my-order) on an AI layer like Morsa so fewer people need full seats.

Sources

  1. Microsoft, Dynamics 365 Business Central pricing: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/dynamics-365/products/business-central/pricing (read 21 October 2026)

  2. Microsoft Dynamics 365 Blog, New Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central pricing effective November 2025 (May 6, 2025, updated September 9, 2025): https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/dynamics-365/blog/business-leader/2025/05/06/new-microsoft-dynamics-365-business-central-pricing-effective-november-2025/ (read 21 October 2026)

  3. Microsoft Dynamics 365 Licensing Deck, October 2026 (PDF hosted by Licensing School): https://www.licensingschool.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2026/10/Dynamics-365-Licensing-Deck-October-2026.pdf (read 21 October 2026)

  4. Microsoft licensing guidance, Dynamics 365 Business Central: https://www.microsoft.com/licensing/guidance/Dynamics-365-Business-Central (read 21 October 2026)

  5. Microsoft Learn, Licensing in Business Central: https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/dynamics365/business-central/dev-itpro/deployment/licensing (read 21 October 2026)

  6. Microsoft Learn, Create users according to licenses: https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/dynamics365/business-central/ui-how-users-permissions (read 21 October 2026)

  7. Microsoft Learn, Managing capacity: https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/dynamics365/business-central/dev-itpro/administration/tenant-admin-center-capacity (read 21 October 2026)

  8. Microsoft Tech Community, Simplifying licensing across our SMB ERP solutions (April 28, 2023): https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/discussions/businessapplicationsforpartners/simplifying-licensing-across-our-smb-erp-solutions-dont-miss-new-dpl-announcemen/3808035 (read 21 October 2026)

  9. BE-terna, Upcoming price changes for Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central on-premise and SaaS (June 26, 2025): https://www.be-terna.com/insights/upcoming-price-changes-for-microsoft-dynamics-365-business-central-on-premise-and-saas (read 21 October 2026)

  10. Rand Group, Business Central pricing guide (updated August 18, 2026): https://www.randgroup.com/insights/microsoft/dynamics-365/business-central/business-central-pricing-guide/ (read 21 October 2026)

  11. Cargas, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central pricing guide: https://cargas.com/blog/microsoft-dynamics-365-business-central-pricing-new/ (read 21 October 2026)

  12. Encore Business Solutions, Dynamics 365 Business Central implementation: https://www.encorebusiness.com/expertise/dynamics-365-business-central-implementation/ (read 21 October 2026)

  13. Alphavima Technologies, Business Central implementation cost (July 15, 2026): https://alphavima.com/blog/business-central-implementation-cost/ (read 21 October 2026)

  14. Evincible Solutions, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central implementation cost: https://evinciblesolutions.com/microsoft-dynamics-365-business-central-implementation-cost/ (read 21 October 2026)

  15. Morsa, J4S customer story: https://morsa.ai/customers/j4s (read 21 October 2026)

  16. Morsa pricing: https://morsa.ai/pricing (read 21 October 2026)

  17. Microsoft Dynamics 365 Blog, Why migrate now (April 14, 2025): https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/dynamics-365/blog/business-leader/2025/04/14/why-migrate-now-the-benefits-of-moving-from-dynamics-gp-to-microsoft-dynamics-365-business-central/ (read 21 October 2026)

KEEP READING

KEEP READING

KEEP READING

Related pages

GUIDE

GUIDE

GUIDE

Dynamics NAV to Business Central: migration paths, steps, timelines and cost

Dynamics NAV is on Microsoft's Fixed Lifecycle Policy, and the last version, NAV 2018, leaves extended support on 1/12/2028. No NAV version moves straight to Business Central online: Microsoft's route goes through Business Central version 14 on-premises, then version 25 or later, then the cloud, or you reimplement. Named partners quote 12 weeks to 12 months, and Stoneridge Software publishes $75,000 to $376,000 by scope. Through the move, Morsa, the AI operations layer, reads and writes NAV and Business Central at the same time, so open POs, supplier dates and customer orders stay on track.

Read the page

›

GUIDE

GUIDE

GUIDE

Dynamics GP end of life: key dates, what changes, and what to do

Microsoft ends Dynamics GP product enhancements, regulatory (tax) updates and technical support on December 31, 2029, and stops security updates on April 30, 2031. New customers could no longer buy GP after April 1, 2026. Microsoft's stated path is Dynamics 365 Business Central. The first thing a GP shop should add is Morsa, the AI operations layer that keeps open POs and supplier dates on track through the migration and makes Business Central, or any ERP you choose, deliver.

Read the page

›

GUIDE

GUIDE

GUIDE

Outgrowing QuickBooks: when to move to an ERP, your options, and how to migrate

Move from QuickBooks to an ERP when you hit its hard limits (QuickBooks Online Advanced caps at 25 users, Desktop Enterprise at 40), when inventory, purchasing and production live in spreadsheets beside it, or when you run several entities. QuickBooks Desktop is not ending overall: Intuit stopped selling Desktop Pro Plus, Premier Plus and Mac Plus to new US subscribers on September 30, 2024, existing subscribers can renew, Enterprise is still sold, Desktop 2023 lost support on May 31, 2026, and Intuit says Desktop 2024 has no sunset date. The usual next systems are NetSuite, Business Central, Acumatica, Sage and Odoo. Put the AI layer in first: Morsa runs the daily work on QuickBooks today and on the new ERP after.

Read the page

›

FAQs

FAQs

FAQs

Questions people ask

Questions people ask

Still have a question? A founder will answer.

01

How much does Business Central cost per user?

Essentials is $80 per user per month and Premium is $110, both paid yearly. Team Members is $8 per user per month. A shared Device license is $45 per device per month. These are Microsoft's US list prices since November 1, 2025; your partner's quote may differ by country and currency.

02

What are the different types of licenses for Dynamics 365 Business Central?

Essentials (full user), Premium (full user plus manufacturing and service management), Team Members (light use: read, approve, update existing records, quotes, time sheets), External Accountant (up to three per tenant) and Device (a shared terminal used by many people at once). Microsoft also sells Device SL at $30 a device with a 100 device minimum through partners.

03

What is the difference between Business Central Essentials and Premium?

Premium includes everything in Essentials plus manufacturing (production orders, BOMs, routings) and service order management. It costs $110 instead of $80 per user per month. Essentials users cannot sign in to a company set to Premium, so a manufacturer licenses all full users on Premium.

04

How much does Business Central implementation cost?

Named partners publish $18,000 to $80,000 for finance only (Encore), about $40,000 to $100,000 and up for typical projects with $75,000 as an average (Cargas), $25,000 to $250,000 and up overall (Rand Group), and $160,000 and up once manufacturing is included (Encore).

05

Did Business Central prices go up in 2025?

Yes. Essentials went from $70 to $80, Premium from $100 to $110 and Device from $40 to $45 per month, effective November 1, 2025 for new subscriptions and at first renewal after that date for existing ones. Microsoft moved the date from October 1 to November 1, 2025. Team Members stayed at $8.

06

Is there a free trial of Business Central?

Yes. Microsoft offers a free 30-day trial on its pricing page.

07

Is Business Central Team Members read-only?

Mostly. Microsoft describes it as read-only access to certain data with limited functions, but it can update existing records, approve workflows, work on sales and purchase quotes and enter time sheets, for the user's own work only.

WHERE MORSA FITS

WHERE MORSA FITS

WHERE MORSA FITS

Find out where AI could make your plant more money.

Answer a few questions about your plant. We come back with a free Manufacturing AI Profitability Plan, and we tell you honestly if we are not the right fit.

Machines, people, and vendors, finally in one. We start with yours.

For queries, feedback or suggestions

© 2026 Lunar Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Machines, people, and vendors, finally in one. We start with yours.

For queries, feedback or suggestions

© 2026 Lunar Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Machines, people, and vendors, finally in one. We start with yours.

For queries, feedback or suggestions

© 2026 Lunar Inc. All Rights Reserved.